Tuscaloosa County Parks & Recreation Authority toggle menu

Therapeutic Recreation

 

Therapeutic Recreation provides recreational and activity of daily living programming for adults with developmental disabilities.

Did you know you can make a tax-deductible donation to help support PARA's Therapeutic Recreation Program? 

Click here to donate to the PARA Foundation, and designate your fund as "Therapeutic Recreation."

MONTHLY TR CALENDAR & NEWSLETTER:

2023 DANCE SCHEDULE:

Cooking

Cooking classes are held at the McAbee Center every 2nd and 4th Monday of the month (except in October). All participants must be pre-registered to attend.

Come by one of PARA’s Activity Centers to sign up; the registration fee is $12 per class.


Upcoming:

    • -Monday, July 24
      -Monday, August 14
      -Monday, August 28
      -Monday, September 11
      -Monday, September 25

LOCATIONS

McAbee Center
view map

Mondays
(2nd & 4th Monday of the month)
5:00 - 7:00 pm

AGES

18+

COST

$12 per class

Basketball

The Special Olympic Basketball training & competition program will meet every Tuesday at the Belk Activity Center starting in January through March from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. The cost is $30 per participant.


Upcoming:

    • The current season has ended. Check back for next season.

LOCATIONS

Belk Center
view map

Tuesdays
3:00 - 4:00 pm

AGES

18+

COST

$30 per participant

Bowling

TR Bowling meets every Wednesday* afternoon at Bowlero on McFarland Blvd. The cost is $4 per game. Due to COVID restrictions, all participants who attend must bowl.

Everyone MUST be picked up by 4:00 p.m.

 

Upcoming: 

-Wednesday, July 26
-Wednesday, August 2
-Wednesday, August 9
-Wednesday, August 16
-Wednesday, August 23
-Wednesday, August 30
-Wednesday, September 6

-Wednesday, September 13
-Wednesday, September 20

*Please note, there will be no bowling Wednesday, September 27.

LOCATIONS

Bowlero
view map

Wednesdays
2:00 - 4:00 pm

AGES

All

COST

$4 per game

Competitive Volleyball

Tryouts for the 2023 Competitive Volleyball Program will be held Tuesday, September 12 and Thursday, September 14 at the Belk Center from 4:30 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. Each player who is interested in participating must attend tryouts. Practice will be held every Tuesday and Thursday beginning Tuesday, September 19. The cost is $50 per participant for the season.

 

Upcoming:
-Tuesday, September 12 (tryouts)
-Thursday, September 14 (tryouts)

-Tuesday, September 19
-Thursday, September 21
-Tuesday, September 26

Please note, there will be no volleyball Thursday, September 28.

LOCATIONS

Belk Center
view map

Tuesdays & Thursdays 
4:30 - 5:45 pm

COST

$50 per participant 

Competitive Swim Program

The Summer Swim Program will meet each Thursday in June* and July (weather permitting) at Bowers Pool from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. The cost is $5 per session for each participant.

 

Upcoming: 

-Thursday, July 20

-Thursday, July 27

The 2023-2024 Competitive Swim Program will meet each Wednesday at the Bobby Miller Center starting Wednesday, October 4 from 4:30 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Transportation will be provided from Bowlero to the Miller Center.

 

Upcoming: 
-Wednesday, October 4

LOCATIONS

Bowers Pool
view map

Thursdays (June & July)
4:00 - 6:00 pm
 

Bobby Miller Center
view map

Wednesdays (fall)
4:30 - 6:00 pm

AGES

All

COST

$5 per session (summer)
 

$20 per participant per month

(fall)

The Spring Golf program meets at Ol’ Colony Golf Complex each Thursday in March and April from 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.  The cost is $20 per participant per month.

 

Upcoming:

The current season has ended. Check back for next season.

LOCATIONS

Ol Colony Golf Complex
view map

Thursdays 
4:30 - 6:00 pm

AGES

18+

COST

$20 per month

Dinner & A Movie

The Dinner & a Movie Program promotes money management, appropriate behavior, and decision-making skills. Space is limited!

 

All participants must be pre-registered to attend.

Each registered participant must also bring $20-$25 in cash to cover the cost of his/her dinner.

 

Upcoming: 

-Friday, August 4

-Friday, September 8

-Friday, October 6

-Friday, November 3

-Friday, December 1

LOCATIONS

Meet at Belk Center view map

Fridays
5:00 - 9:45 pm

AGES

18+

COST

$20 per participant

Adaptive Fitness Class

This beginner to intermediate level class is designed for adults with special abilities to gain balance, strength, and endurance. All exercises can be adapted and modified for every function level from high to low levels of assistance needed.

 

Please contact Amber Walker at the Faucett Center (205.331.5600) for any questions.


Upcoming:

    • -Thursday, July 20
    • -Thursday, July 27
      -Thursday, August 3
      -Thursday, August 10
      -Thursday, August 17
      -Thursday, August 24
      -Thursday, August 31
    • -Thursday, September 7
    • -Thursday, September 14
    • -Thursday, September 21
      -Thursday, September 28

LOCATIONS

Faucett Center
view map

Thursdays
10:15 - 11:15 am

 
TR Program Contact: 
Image
Letrice Prince-Koon

lprince@tcpara.org
205.562.3230